Drug News

Dr. Leigh Briscoe-Dwyer Emerge As New President Of ASHP

Dr. Leigh Briscoe-Dwyer, a distinguished pharmacist, has taken on a prominent leadership role in the healthcare community as the president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). This esteemed position is a testament to her years of dedication and expertise in the field of pharmacy.

Before assuming the presidency, Dr. Briscoe-Dwyer’s involvement in various committees and roles within ASHP showcased her commitment to advancing the profession. Her extensive contributions included chairing the ASHP committee on nominations, the Council on public policy, and the FASHP recognition committee. These roles allowed her to actively shape the strategic direction of ASHP and contribute to important decisions that impact the pharmacy landscape.

Furthermore, Dr. Briscoe-Dwyer’s influence extended beyond ASHP. She previously held the position of president of the Long Island Society of Health-System Pharmacists, demonstrating her leadership capabilities at both regional and national levels. This experience provided her with a well-rounded perspective on the challenges and opportunities faced by health-system pharmacists across different settings.

Joining Dr. Briscoe-Dwyer in leadership are three distinguished ASHP members who were elected to the organization’s board of directors. Kristi Gullickson, PharmD, an accomplished pharmacy director at Abbott Northwestern Hospital in Minneapolis, recently became a member of the board. Her expertise will undoubtedly contribute to ASHP’s mission to enhance patient care through effective pharmacy practices.

Looking forward, two other highly respected pharmacy professionals are set to join the ASHP board of directors in June 2024. Dawn Moore, PharmD, vice president and chief pharmacy officer of Community Health Network in Indianapolis, brings her valuable insights from managing pharmacy operations in a dynamic healthcare environment. Douglas Slain, PharmD, who chairs the clinical pharmacy department at West Virginia University in Morgantown, will also bring his expertise to the board. Their impending contributions are eagerly anticipated as they embark on their three-year terms.

The leadership team at ASHP, under the guidance of Dr. Leigh Briscoe-Dwyer, is poised to drive meaningful advancements in health-system pharmacy. With the addition of accomplished professionals like Kristi Gullickson, Dawn Moore, and Douglas Slain, ASHP is well-equipped to address the evolving challenges and opportunities in healthcare and pharmacy practice, ensuring the delivery of high-quality patient care across the nation.


Dr. Oche Otorkpa PG Cert, MPH, PhD

Dr. Oche is a seasoned Public Health specialist who holds a post graduate certificate in Pharmacology and Therapeutics, an MPH, and a PhD both from Texila American University. He is a member of the International Society of Substance Use Professionals and a Fellow of the Royal Society for Public Health in the UK. He authored two books: "The Unseen Terrorist," published by AuthorHouse UK, and "The Night Before I Killed Addiction."
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker